FAWL Journal
FAWL Journal Subscribe Button

Quick Links

Upcoming Events

FAWL Summit in the Sand
Sept. 14-16


Lobby Days 2018
Jan. 29-31
Doubletree Tallahassee
Hotel Reservations
Registration Details Coming Soon

Social Media:

Award Recipients




Jurist of the Year
The Honorable Renee Goldenberg, Seventeenth Judicial Circuit, Broward Chapter

Rosemary Barkett Outstanding Achievement Award
Abbe S. Rifkin, Miami-Dade Office of the State Attorney, Broward Chapter

Outstanding Chapter

Outstanding Student Chapter

Membership Award, Small Chapter

Membership Award, Medium Chapter

Membership Award, Large Chapter

Outstanding Member Program

Outstanding Public Service Award

Leaders in the Law

  • Cynthia "CJ" Bosco, U.S. Legal Support, Central Florida
  • Dresden Brunner, S. Dresden Brunner, P.A., Collier Chapter
  • Lauren Brunswick, ShubinBass, P.A., Miami-Dade Chapter    
  • Gentry Byrnes, Raymond James Trust, Pinellas Chapter
  • Victoria Cruz-Garcia, Givens Givens Sparks, PLLC, Hillsborough Chapter
  • Joanne Fakhre, Law Office of Joanne M. Fakhre, P.A., Jacksonville Chapter
  • Irene Bassel Frick, Akerman LLP, Hillsborough Chapter
  • The Honorable Claudia Isom, Thirteenth Judicial Circuit, Hillsborough Chapter
  • Jamie Karpman, U.S. Dept. of Housing and Urban Development, Jacksonville Chapter
  • Erum Kistemaker, Kistemaker Business Law Group, Volusia/Flagler Chapter
  • Katherine Kiziah, State of Florida Office of the Attorney General, Palm Beach Chapter
  • Heather Kolinsky, HMKLaw, P.A., Central Florida Chapter
  • Laura Jo Lieffers, Moyer Law Group, Pinellas Chapter
  • Stacey D. Mullins, Schuttler, Greenberg & Mullins, South Palm Beach Chapter
  • Kelly Pena, Ogletree Deakins, Miami-Dade Chapter
  • Jenny Sieg, Sieg & Cole, P.A., Pasco & Pinellas Chapters
  • Lisa Jo Spencer, Lisa Jo Spencer, PA, Okaloosa Chapter
  • The Honorable Elizabeth Starr, Ninth Judicial Circuit, Central Florida Chapter
  • Jennifer Sullivan, Guilday, Simpson, West, Hatch, Lowe & Roane, P.A., Tallahassee Chapter
  • Heather Tyndall-Best, State of Florida Department of Management Services, Tallahassee Chapter
  • Rebecca Vaccariello, Salvatori, Wood, Buckel, Carmichael & Lottes, Collier Chapter
  • Alicia Welch, United States Attorney’s Office Southern District of Florida, Miami-Dade Chapter

On behalf of the recipients, nominees, and all of the members of the Florida Association for Women Lawyers, we want to thank the members of the committee for their tireless efforts and sincere devotion to the important task of reviewing dozens of nominations and hundreds of pages of supporting documents.


Leaders in the Law

FAWL's Leaders in the Law award recognizes women who have made significant impacts in their communities. The recognition is intended to promote women who are not necessarily at the pinnacle of their career, but rather women who have made meaningful contributions in their communities through their legal service or volunteer activities and who have provided a positive role model for FAWL members.

Outstanding Chapter Award

This Award is presented annually to the FAWL Chapter that has actively promoted gender equality according to FAWL’s mission through its initiatives, programs and activities.

   Outstanding Student Chapter Award Est. 2014

FAWL's Outstanding Student Chapter Award is presented to a chapter that actively promotes gender equality according to the FAWL mission through its initiatives, programs, and activities.

2015 Winner:  Stetson University College of Law Student Chapter
2014 Winner: University of Florida Student Chapter of FAWL alt

 Outstanding Programming Award

This Award is presented annually to the FAWL Chapter that has presented an effective program: (1) reflective of FAWL’s mission that is (2) easily recreated by other Chapters and (3) has quality supporting materials. 

           2013 Winner: Central Florida Association for Women Lawyers alt      
                 2012 Co-winners: 
Tallahassee Women Lawyers alt Palm Beach County Association for Women Lawyers alt

 Outstanding Chapter Public Service Award Est. 2013

This award is presented to the chapter that has presented the most outstanding public service program during the past year. 

Rosemary Barkett Outstanding Achievement Award

This Award is presented in honor of Rosemary Barkett who became the first woman Florida Supreme Court Justice when she was appointed by Governor Bob Graham on October 14, 1985. Justice Barkett is the first woman Chief Justice in the history of the Florida Supreme Court. She was inducted into the Florida Women’s Hall of Fame in 1986. In 1994, President Bill Clinton named her to the U.S. 11th Circuit Court of Appeals where she continues to serve today.        To view all past winners 1997 - 2015

powered by MemberClicks